Flu is my least favorite F word

The flu has hit our house HARD this past week.

Last Sunday both of my younger ones (4yr old & 2yr old) started running fevers. You could tell they weren’t feeling the greatest but no crazy high fevers or anything. Monday morning my middle one had a fever of 105.5 and the youngest 103. I took them to get them checked out and they both tested positive for the flu.

We spent the remainder of Monday at home resting, medicine and pushing fluids. Tuesday was a repeat of Monday. On Wednesday I cleaned the entire house did the whole Lysol, bleach, wash everything routine. Kids still weren’t quite 100% but seemed like they were feeling a little bit better. Thursday morning I got hit by a semi-truck. Not literally obviously or I wouldn’t be typing this now

Friday I had horrible fevers on and off all day, spoiler alert I also got the flu. I had a very strange fever dream that I could not find potatoes anywhere and also no one knew what a potato was when I was asking about them. I even did the whole LOTR line PO-TA-TOES boil ’em, mash ’em line and everyone looked at me like I was crazy. It would be a very strange world without potatoes.

Lots of medicine, and sleep later. I’m awake, functioning a bit more normal. If the breathing thing could clear up I would very grateful. My sinuses are so swollen so that could be better. Here’s hoping I’m about done with this nonsense

Author: hallowfox

My name is Rachel and I have a chocolate addiction yet smell like cheesecake. I’m not usually one that fits into any particular shape or mold. I’m a mother, animal lover (I might be obsessed with foxes) My hair has it's own personality and my fair complexion along with face sprinkles point to an Irish heritage. *all pictures are from google searches unless indicated otherwise.

Leave a comment