Butter on a biscuit

It’s National Buttermilk Biscuit day!

Cover it with butter. Smother it with gravy. Serve it on the side with some Chicken Pot Pie. Here’s some interesting things you may or may not know about this delicious bread item:

  • Biscuits are made using baking powder or baking soda as a leavening agent rather than yeast
  • A typical buttermilk biscuit recipe contains flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, butter, and buttermilk.
  • Before the American Civil War, biscuits emerged as an inexpensive addition to meals.
  • Alexander P. Ashbourne patented the first biscuit cutter in 1875
  • In 1931, Ballard and Ballard patented refrigerator biscuits.

What’s your favorite way to enjoy the biscuit?

Author: hallowfox

My name is Rachel and I have a chocolate addiction yet smell like cheesecake. I’m not usually one that fits into any particular shape or mold. I’m a mother, animal lover (I might be obsessed with foxes) My hair has it's own personality and my fair complexion along with face sprinkles point to an Irish heritage. *all pictures are from google searches unless indicated otherwise.

Leave a comment